In keeping with the "worst flight flown" thread

Aztec Driver

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Bryon
I had my 6 month IPC / pt 135 checkride today.

Honestly, I can't understand how they let me continue to fly, sometimes.

Weather varied from 800 - 1200 overcast and 3-5 miles visibility, unless you really waned to see something, then it was 2 miles.

Had to do a local IFR file to do the entire ride, almost all in IMC. Started off right away by tuning the wrong frequency for approach, a frequency I use all the time when leaving the home drome. I transposed two numbers and could not figure out why I could not raise anyone. That seems to have set the tone for the ride.

We entered a hold at the initial approach fix and asked ATC for an extra turn in the hold for some maneuvers, a maneuver that I have never done in IMC before in my life, a power off imminent stall. Thankfully, ATC gave us a Pilot's Discretion descent of 1000 feet, so any altitude loss would not be noticed. But that was highly disorienting, and disturbing. Ended up at the approach fix for the turn at the same time as the stall was coming to an end, a situation that made things very interesting. Ended up in a steeper than normal turn, slower than I would like, turning around in the hold whilst recovering from the imminent stall. Ended up turning around a point and heading back up the wrong way on the hold. No big deal, just reverse the entry just like we did before. Then on to the ILS approach.