In-flight video with single-axis gyro

iWantWings

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
wingsIwant
A short in-flight video clip taken with GoPro2 while mounted on a "MotoGyroVision" single-axis gyro. While the airplane is in a bank, the camera's gyro chip and magnetometer keep the GoPro2 aligned with the horizon -this gives is nice perspective while the airplane is in a bank

I think most people that buy this single-axis gyro, use it on their motorcycles. This is the first time I've used it to stabilize the GoPro and I've never used anything similar before, so I can't do a comparison. But I was very happy it on the first try.

I tried to use it on the Piper Cub, but I didn't mount the suction cup that holds the gopro and gyro well enough and the thing detached. The suction mount, gopro with "skelleton shield" and the "Motogyrovision" aren't all that light so a clean, flat surface is important for the suction mount.

Edit: if interested in the gyro, more info here http://motogyrovision.com/ (

A short in-flight video clip taken with GoPro2 while mounted on a "MotoGyroVision" single-axis gyro. While the airplane is in a bank, the camera's gyro chip and magnetometer keep the GoPro2 aligned with the horizon -this gives is nice perspective while the airplane is in a bank

I think most people that buy this single-axis gyro, use it on their motorcycles. This is the first time I've used it to stabilize the GoPro and I've never used anything similar before, so I can't do a comparison. But I was very happy it on the first try.

I tried to use it on the Piper Cub, but I didn't mount the suction cup that holds the gopro and gyro well enough and the thing detached. The suction mount, gopro with "skelleton shield" and the "Motogyrovision" aren't all that light so a clean, flat surface is important for the suction mount.

Edit: if interested in the gyro, more info here http://motogyrovision.com/ (