In flight icing risk for composite vs metal?

FlyGirlKHWO

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
FlyGirl
I own a Grumman Tiger (AA5b) and have no experience with LSAs and other composite-based birds, but I'm curious if there's any difference in their susceptibility to structural icing... it seems that metal would get colder than composite, but I'm no engineer.

Anyone with info on that?

The material itself isn't a factor in ice accumulation or the effect of that. But the airfoil shape is a factor for both and some composites have sharp nosed highly laminar flow airfoils which are generally both good ice collectors and more significantly affected by ice accumulation. But it's not that fiberglass is more susceptible to icing issues but rather the ability to create wing shapes more easily that are.

The material itself isn't a factor in ice accumulation or the effect of that. But the airfoil shape is a factor for both and some composites have sharp nosed highly laminar flow airfoils which are generally both good ice collectors and more significantly affected by ice accumulation. But it's not that fiberglass is more susceptible to icing issues but rather the ability to create wing shapes more easily that are.

What Lance said. Plus, you are in Florida, so you don't have to worry as much, anyway! (Especially in an LSA?)

Wells

I think the risk pertains far more to the judgement of the pilot than the material of the aircraft.

I think the risk pertains far more to the judgement of the pilot than the material of the aircraft.
With few exceptions that's probably true for almost any aspect of aircraft design.

I own a Grumman Tiger (AA5b) and have no experience with LSAs and other composite-based birds, but I'm curious if there's any difference in their susceptibility to structural icing... it seems that metal would get colder than composite, but I'm no engineer.

Anyone with info on that?