IFR

Wally Sad

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Wally
Hi
I am a student pilot, and i was wondering if anyone knows the answer to this question:
I flew under the hood for two hours, and i still have one hour left. I'am doing the 3 hours night flying tonight and i was wondering of i can count one of the hours toward the IFR?
thanks,
Wally

Hi
I am a student pilot, and i was wondering if anyone knows the answer to this question:
I flew under the hood for two hours, and i still have one hour left. I'am doing the 3 hours night flying tonight and i was wondering of i can count one of the hours toward the IFR?
thanks,
Wally
Yes.

I believe that's only true if you're with a CFII rather than just a CFI.

Correct.

His 3 hours of Instrument time will only count towards his private, if the CFI is only a single-I. If he is an -II, those 3 hours are also good for the 15 hour dual requirement for the IR.
But, if he flies one of his night hours under the hood, it does count for that hour he needs for the private, even if the CFI is a -I not -II.

I did almost all my primary training with a CFII, but he happened to be sick for a week so he had me fly with a regular CFI. Of course that was the week I did most of the hood work. Oh well...

Thanks for all your answers. i will advise my CFI that one of the hours should count towards my total of 3 hours under the hood.
this is a great group. Thanks again

I don't like double-dipping like you suggest. Three hours of night is not much and I believe you should get the experience visually.

As has been said, your hood time with the CFI will count toward the private but not toward "instrument flight instruction" required for an IFR rating. However, the IFR rating requires 40 hours of actual or simulated instrument time but only 15 hours of "instrument instruction" from a CFII. So, your one hour with a non-II is probably not wasted even toward the instrument rating.