IFR In Aircraft Not Rated For IMC

Direct C51

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Direct C51
Been lurking for awhile, figured it's time to start participating.

I fly a helicopter with ADF only (AH-64D Apache). We also have a non certified, GPS, with corruptible database. I am an instrument rated pilot and do an Instrument eval yearly in the Apache, however this merely consists of an instrument takeoff, NDB holding/approach, radar approach, and 'practice' GPS approaches to be used for emergency only. I am also a private ASEL pilot thinking of getting a fixed wing IR.

My question is, I would like to file IFR and do some flight under Instrument Flight Rules in the Apache. The first problem is the Apache is not approved for flight in IMC. How would I fly an IFR flight and ensure I am not told to fly through any IMC besides flying only during a day of severe clear? Also, NDBs are hard to come by now days and NDB hopping doesn't seem to get me very far. Is there any way at all to use our non certified GPS if flying only VMC and doing only visual approaches? We fly GPS approaches in VMC at our home base but also preface the request with 'request practice GPS XX approach'. I'm just trying to find a way to fly an actual IFR flight and not feel like a wannabe IFR pilot.

Last edited:
It's not approved for IFR flight. Period.

You can get practice VFR approaches that will go like this "Helicopter 12345 cleared for ILS 5, practice approach approved maintain VFR no separation services provided

It's not approved for IFR flight. Period.

You can get practice VFR approaches that will go like this "Helicopter 12345 cleared for ILS 5, practice approach approved maintain VFR no separation services provided