If you could pick one training book....

triton63

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
triton63
to recommend for a new fixed pilot wanabe what would it be?

I have the FAR and AIM manuals and some Jeppesen training books but looking for an easy to follow, fun to read book that explains much of what the other manuals will cover. I plan to begin my training within the next month. I have not flown in ten years. I started my fixed wing training then and flew 6 hours and stopped. Ten years prior to that I was a helicopter pilot in the Army so I do have my commercial pilot, rotorcraft - helicopter, instrument helicopter certificate.

Looking forward to getting back in the air. Thanks for your suggestions.

The FAA Airplane Flying Handbook is very nice, IMHO. Better than many other books on the topic. Your tax dollars at work.

Also, being a former Army helo driver, you probably don't need the "Stick and Rudder". You need a quick primer on contemporary civilian flying and FAA handbooks do that.

P.S. To MAKG's point, Denker book is wonderful and all, but he needs stuff like airspace, and the rule is only one book, so...

Last edited:
A great book to have (even if you go with another) for private pilot training is this one (click the image). And the author is one of our beloved curmudgeons here
stickpoke.gif
Bob G.
poking-with-stick-smiley-emoticon.gif

But the challenge to "the best one" is that all of the major ones are all really good. So much of it comes down to whom you like personally.

Rod Machado's Private Pilot's Handbook

Some corny humor but really good with the details.

I would agree with that. That's the book I started with, and as easy as it was to read, I was quite surprised at how well it prepared me when I moved on to some other texts. Still have it, and use it as reference.

Stick and Rudder- I am convinced that this book would have saved me a couple hours or so in my primary training when I was just starting out.