I need some help with radio communications

Collin Kaufman

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Ckflyer13
Hey guys! This is probably a stupid a question and I'm probably just over thinking it, but I'm a brand new private pilot and I haven't taken my first flight yet as PIC since. I did all of my flight training at Eglin AFB (KVPS) and I'm sure some of you know that the military has some weird ways of doing things. On Saturday I plan on taking my girlfriend up and flying along the beach and all the good stuff. However, I might end up flying out of a neighboring Class D airport (KDTS) that I'm not too familiar with.

I guess I'm asking what my radio communications should look like for departing KDTS for a local VFR flight? Again I'm probably just overthinking it but anything helps!
Thanks so much!
P.S. I should also probably add that this is part 93 airspace and makes it that much more intimidating

Last edited:
You're overthinking it. I've been doing my training out of class D (KTKI) for a while now, and the controllers are pretty standard. A few times I have to confirm an instruction or ask "say again?" but they're super cool about it.

Something like “looking to head north up the coast at 1000’ for a few miles then turn N/S/E/W and climb to x,500’ on my way back to KXYZ”. Or something like that.

On Saturday I plan on taking my girlfriend up and flying along the beach and all the good stuff.
Oooh yeah! I know exactly what what you mean and so does @mscard88! Congratulations!

Seriously though, just simply tell them what you want to do in plain English.

Who you’re calling (Ground)
Who you are (tail number)
Where you are (“east ramp” or whatever)
What you want (VFR northbound with Information Bravo)

:)

1. Get ADIS
2. Contact Ground...N1234P at Sheltair, for a departure to the south, with Papa.
3. Ground..taxi Charlie, Alfa to runway 5.
4. Contact tower.
5. Depart.