I have your Vx right here

zaitcev

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Pete Zaitcev
I went up with an instructor to complete a WINGS activity dealing with takeoffs and landings, and boy, did we do all the dumb stuff I never got to do when I was a student. Back then, I was flying at a respectful distance away from the edges of the envelope. The best part was when he asked me to do a short field takeoff, and then I overcooked it by just a tiny bit, possibly by the altitude differential in Vx (field is at 5800 ft). I managed to climb to about 50 ft, but could not keep it together and settled back on the runway despite my best efforts. Good thing I didn't raise the gear. Woo-hoo. Very glad not to learn this lesson at an actual short field with obstacles.

Short Field? A video:

Original Russian IL 76 fully loaded take-off I don't suppose "short field take off" is covered in the flight manual........... A fully loaded Russian IL-76 cargo plane........ payload: 1 million pounds!!!! Listen to the "controllers" in the tower who are Australian: Ya gotta love it "The Vodka Burner" as the Aussies call it, literally uses every inch of runway....... WATCH THE WHOLE VIDEO... (shot from the tower) You can HEAR THE CONVERSATION IN THE TOWER. They are incredulous -- that it makes it....

HR

Attachments

• Il76-in-Australia.wmv
    7 MB · Views: 293