I guess I'm a "real" pilot now?

flyingcheesehead

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
iMooniac
Some of you have correctly deduced from some recent threads and/or Facebook posts that I'm getting paid to fly now. I'm also doing some other things utilizing other skills, and I have a very family-friendly schedule, so the job is somewhat of a unicorn.

But... I figured I'd share a bit about the flying parts with you all.

FWIW, I've been flying for about 16 years and have about 2,000 hours of total time, most of which has been on my own dime and, prior to this, only high single digits/low double digits actually paid, despite having had my commercial ASMEL since 2008. I've always been doing other things and flying has always been my side hobby/passion/obsession.

But, this opportunity came along and I obviously couldn't say no... So, off I went to SimCom to learn how to fly the "big French Mooney", AKA the Daher/Socata TBM 850 and 900 series. For those unaware of its history, the TBM began life as the Mooney 301, Mooney got bought by some French folks who also owned Socata, they worked together and turned the 301 into a turboprop before Mooney was sold/bankrupt/dropped out of the deal. The Socata factory is in Tarbes, France, and "TBM" actually stands for TarBes Mooney. (Yeah, yeah, I know. "Enough already, get to the good stuff!")

I'm going to split this into a few posts here... Next up: Training!