Hypertension

A

anonymous

I currently have a 3rd class medical with an SI for Thyroid Cancer. My endocrinologist treating my thyroid cancer has referred me to my family dr for high blood pressure.

What happens with my medical if I am diagnosed with Hypertension? My last reading (un-medicated) was over the CACI limit.

Do I have to suspend flying and see an AME, or is this simply a stop flying while adjusting to meds (I have the list of approved meds)?

Your Dr will have to provide a letter to the AME you use saying your HBP is under control, something to that effect. That's what mine did for me and I held a First Class for 24 years or more.

((Note: I am not a doctor or AME, but this situation applies to me so I can help some based on my past experience. But if you have specific questions about your personal situation, definitely consult your own doctor))

Anon... your AME can use the CACI Worksheet (CACI = Conditions an AME Can Issue) for this. See this page:

https://www.faa.gov/about/office_or...es/aam/ame/guide/media/C-CACIHypertension.pdf

From the top paragraph on that page, is the status letter from your PCP that Mark references. (highlighted in blue)

The Examiner should review a current status report by the treating physician and any supporting documents to determine the applicant’s eligibility for certification. HOWEVER, the AME is not required to review a current status report from the treating physician IF the AME can otherwise determine that the applicant has had stable clinical blood pressure control on the current antihypertensive medication for at least 7 days, without symptoms from the hypertension or adverse medication side-effects, and no treatment changes are recommended.​