Hypertension Medication

I

IMAnonymous

First time poster here, thank you in advance for the help. I have a 1st. class medical. My doctor prescribed Losartan Potassium 50 MG. Was I required to ground myself before my next medical?
What is the process of getting my 1st. class medical with Hypertension Medication?
Thank you

Well controlled hypertension is pretty much a yawner for the AME. All you need is a note from your doctor saying that it is well controlled. Losartan is acceptable to the FAA. Never heard of a need to ground for hypertension meds other than a few days to make sure there are no adverse side effects. That said I am not a doctor, lawyer, medicine man, or Holiday Inn Express sleeper.

First time poster here, thank you in advance for the help. I have a 1st. class medical. My doctor prescribed Losartan Potassium 50 MG. Was I required to ground myself before my next medical?
What is the process of getting my 1st. class medical with Hypertension Medication?
Thank you

I had to have a letter from my Dr sent to the AME stating basically what Clark wrote above. I flew for an airline so I had to maintain a 1st Class every 6 months. Not a big deal as long as it's controlled.

The other important nugget for the doctor to add to the letter is "I am not following Mr. ____ for Cardiac Artery Disease."

Last edited:
Also, IMAnonymous, go talk to the AME you use and ask if he has either a "fill in the blank and sign" form for your doctor to use, or a boilerplate template of what the doctor should write.

I've learned that for things to be sent to the FAA, you never let your doctor start with a blank sheet of paper. When the FAA gets what they want in the simple wording and format they want, flying life is much simpler.