Hudson River Tour

spiderweb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ben
So, I'm going back to NYC in a month. This is the fifth time, and I can no longer get away with NOT doing the tour.

What's the best way to file for it? Any tips?

Thanks in advance!

Nothing to file for, but do the online training and know the reporting points. My advice is to do the Skyline Route, which is a little higher and requires a bravo clearance from either EWR or LGA tower. The benefit is a few more feet of altitude, relatively less traffic, traffic point outs by ATC, and no position reporting. Enjoy.

Thanks, Brad and Jason!

I think this is going to be a blast!

Note: I studied in NYC for 6 years, before I was a pilot. I'd always though, bet it'd be amazing to view this skyline from 2,000 feet!

Just did mine today. Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qmu_U6jruw

I stayed at 1200, in a transit corridor. Less traffic and no talking to tower/approach. Helicopter traffic below me was pretty crazy. Other than that, few choppers, a twin, and some taildragger towing a banner was the only traffic north and south. I turned around at Alpine Tower to return back south, and caught up with the banner towing plane. It's scary how you can't see the banner at all when you are behind an aircraft!

I did a Skyline once. Was given 1600 feet. And handed off to 4 different controllers between Verrazano and Tappan Zee bridges.

I did up and down the river yesterday and a bit of local operation in the SFRA. No big deal, read the chart, report and look for the helicopters everywhere.