HSI questions

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I'm trying to get a flight review scheduled. I'm planning on combining this with a checkout in an aircraft I've not flown yet. The catch is that this plane has an HSI, and I've never used one before.

Anybody know of any references, books, websites, or other places that explain well to a first-timer? The more I know ahead of time, the better off I'll be. I've already found a few websites that explain how they operate, but I'd like a little guidance on which places work best before I get too involved.

Thanks,
Matt

Thanks, I'll look into that FAA pub.

I've got the DG portion figured out. I just need some help getting the hang of the course indicator/vor. I'm sure it's not as hard as it seems, I just need a little time to read up on it so I can catch on more quickly when my CFI is explaining it.

I was actually looking at the website (http://stoenworks.com/Tutorials/HSI,...0complete.html) earlier today.

It's not quite as intimidating as it first looks.

It's actually really simple... do you have a copy of MS Flight Sim 98 or above? If so, you can jump in just about any airplane on there (except for the Piper Cub or Cessnas) and play around with an HSI.

The HSI is MUCH easier to use IMO than the DG combined with the OBS dials in the Cessnas.

It's actually really simple... do you have a copy of MS Flight Sim 98 or above? If so, you can jump in just about any airplane on there (except for the Piper Cub or Cessnas) and play around with an HSI.

The HSI is MUCH easier to use IMO than the DG combined with the OBS dials in the Cessnas.

Good idea - I keep forgetting that MSFS is actually good for something!