How tough are Cessnas? Watch some rough landing areas they can go to.

motoadve

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
motoadve
I get impressed and how tough Cessnas are, the 182 and 170B I fly have mods for the backcountry, those planes perform and can take a beating without issues at all, here I show some very rough landing areas, big rocks, dry mud, uneven surfaces, enjoy!

those planes perform and can take a beating without issues at all,
No airplane is invincible or immortal. Just like our bodies, hard use will result in problems later on. As a mechanic I have found cracks at the bottom of the aft doorposts. Rough ground does that. Landing gear mountings will suffer. The 170's tailwheel mounting area on the tailcone cracks. Cessna taildraggers suffer loosened elevator balance horns and broken balance weights. The wing struts have been known to crack through the attach lug rivet holes. I found one like that on a 180 floatplane. The nosegear mountings on all but the 150 were never designed for rough strips, and the mounting bracketry can work loose. A hard landing can buckle the firewall and internal tunnel structure. Various bulkheads in the tailcone crack, often from rough handling. The horizontal stab and elevator bottom skins and leading edges get beat up by rocks thrown up by the prop and wheels. The prop itself gets chewed up by rocks, and if those nicks aren't addressed, the prop blade can crack. If you lose a big enough chunk of blade, the vibration could tear the engine off the airplane, and now it won't even glide. CG is way aft.

None of this is cheap to fix. It's fine if you own the airplane, but when it comes to resale time you could find that the airplane has lost much of its value when the prebuy finds so many cracked and loosened components.