how to request special vfr and make a PIREP

pilot J93

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
pilot J93
can anyone tell me how to request special vfr and make a PIREP? im a sudent pilot.

The only time I have requested SVFR was taking off from a towered airport and I just asked for it form Clearance Delivery, if I remember right (class C). I have given PIREPS to ATC while getting flight following. Sometimes they ask for one, sometimes I just offer it, usually in regards to turbulence. Something along the lines of NorCal Approach NXXXXX. We have had moderate turbulence for the last 10 miles.

(Assumes Class D) Podunk Tower, Bugsmasher 1234 over Nearby City requests special VFR clearance landing Podunk with Bravo.

-Skip

If the conditions warrant SVFR then just request it. Either from the tower, or ARTCC if you need it. For PIREPS I will ask whoever I am talking to if they have time for a PIREP, if they do I give it to them, if they don't I usually just keep quiet.

Make your PIREP calls to FSS. Podunk Radio, Pirep. Advise when ready to copy.

Thanks for the responses guys. I live in the caribbean and over here we have a radio practical included in our final private pilot exams..so im in the process of prepping for that.

If the conditions warrant SVFR then just request it. Either from the tower, or ARTCC if you need it. For PIREPS I will ask whoever I am talking to if they have time for a PIREP, if they do I give it to them, if they don't I usually just keep quiet.

ARTCC may or may not be the appropriate facility. You need to request to request it from the appropriate ATC facility for the airport (could be an approach control, could be center). Of course, if you call center and they don't own that airspace, they can give you the right facility to call.

If ATC is too busy to take a PIREP, you can always call FSS and give it to them. It's what they live for.

student pilot limitations preclude operating under conditions that SVFR would be granted for: