How to log time of rented a/c out of school

einepilotin

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
einepilotin
Hi i am an alien pilot student.
I would love to rent an airplane outside of school and build the time myself. As long as i have PPL, can I do that legally and log in my log book? Should I keep the receit and what else to prove it was legal and proper flying time when i apply for an airline job?

It's cheaper renting from outside of my school and I would like to travel further a bit than just near my flight school area... i can't rent the plane all day from my school for that. Appreciate the advice!

Hmm you have a PPC from the USA and you're asking this? Or are you a student pilot?

Yes it's perfectly legal to fly outside of your flight school and log the time, as long as you are properly certificated. No need to keep the receipt for the rental. There's a little box at the bottom of each page in your logbook which states, "I certify that all information in this flight log is true" or something of that nature. By signing that, people give you the benefit of the doubt that you did in fact fly what you have logged in your book.

I'm not sure if the requirement to show nationality is exclusive to receiving training, but I have had to show proof to every club and rental outfit I've flown with.

If you are receiving certain instruction the school/instructor is required by law to get such information. This was put in after the guys who hijacked the 9/11 planes were found to have gotten some flight experience at US flight schools.

Rental doesn't require the security check by law, but the rental place may indeed ask for it anyhow.