How to handle unsafe flight school

B

beaker

Hey everyone,

Not sure if I’m over exaggerating, but I need advice on how to handle discussing the safety/maintained of an sLSA I have been renting for a few years.

For brevity, I’ll mention some alarming notes:

- I noticed that the aircraft has not been scheduled nor receiving 100 hr inspections. Manager/CFI said it isn’t required since it falls under a special airworthiness category (sLSA).
- When parts break on the plane, a non A&P nor LSRM fabricates their own parts and repairs—as opposed to ordering the oem or FAA certified part.
- Continual power issues with radios and other transponders.
- Issues with PFD airspeed indicator not displaying proper speed.
- Trim tab malfunctions
- plus more.

As an engineer, these things concern my intuition and my gut has told me to stop flying with them. Unfortunately, it is the only LSA for at least 2.5 hours from where I live.

I have really liked renting from this place, and really like the instructors.

With this, how do I respectfully share my concerns for safety, without insulting their business and maintenance practices. I want to hold a solid relationship with these folks, but at the same time don’t feel comfortable flying the bird in its current state.

Remaining anonymous and not revealing location due to respect for the business’s reputation.

Am I over exaggerating? I know trainer planes are known for being s**tboxes, but not sure to what extent. Before moving to where I am now, I flew a very very well maintained plane.

Cheers!

Talk to the responsible (culpable) individual. Owner, operator, whomever.

Don’t accuse, simply ask them to address your concerns. They may not know what’s going on, you may decide you DONT wanna continue flying with them. Who knows…

Better call Saul!

1706726564566.png

That is just wrong, a 100-hour inspection is an operating requirement under 91.409, the type of airworthiness certificate has zero to do with it.