How to handle bad reference on resume

A

anonymous

i work in the helicopter business, as a noob Ive been limited to seasonal only jobs as I don't have my flight instructor. ive worked at the same place for a total three years with a year break in between where i found a seasonal job local to where i live.

so every spring starts with the annual sending out of resumes. every spring i got lots of response to my resume.

now, i got more hours than most jobs require and am ready to move on to bigger better jobs.

not a single call on my resume.

at the end of last season i got selected for an interview for a year round job which would require me to leave before the season was over and went to my former boss, explained the situation and got his ok to leave early.

i think the former employer is mad i left early (pet peeve of his) and is "black balling" me.

i would think the fact that i spent three season with the same employer should speak to my dependability. i've called in favors and have letters of recommendations and didn't even get a call for an interview this season. if i got the chance to explain via an interview i think everyone would understand but i cannot even get an interview.

its possible its just luck of the draw i'm not getting called but in my gut i think i'm getting "black balled" and i just don't know what to do about it.

normally i'm a self reliant person and wouldn't dream of making a thread like this but ive truly had the worst year ever the past year of my life. while on deployment i was served with divorce papers and while my house stood empty was burglarized and everything I owned was stolen. my insurance was best i could afford and not worth a darn. im starting to get majorly down over all this where i normally am not that kind of person. i normally believe in making my own luck. i moved forward from all this trying to believe that it was for the best.