How to handle a stop for suspected DUI?

steam wright

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Steam Wright
Hi everyone,

First post here so I apologize if this is in the incorrect section or if it has been answered before. Last night I was pulled over for suspected DUI. This happened in Dallas, TX if that is useful information. I'm a recreational pilot so losing my ticket would not be a career ending event but would have sucked big time nevertheless. It all ended happily, but I was doing some reading today on various advice on what to do and not to do and it turns out I went completely against the advice out there. So in case this ever happens again I want to make sure I do what is appropriate.

So let me back up. Yes, I was at a restaurant and bar and had a drink or two. When I left at about midnight the cop says he followed me to the highway onramp and that I drew attention to myself with a high acceleration down the onramp onto the highway. I always do that unfortunately just a habit of mine. I then merged with traffic and was going at the same speed as everyone else when a few minutes later the lights lit up behind me. I took the next offramp and found a safe place to stop then had my license and insurance all ready for him with the window open before he got to my door.