How to fly in and out of this airport

wildwobby

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
wildwobby
Hi,

I'm a student pilot, and was just randomly looking through airnav and stumbled upon Palm Beach County Park Airport. I see it's proximity to KPBI and how it is under the low shelf of the Class C.
http://skyvector.com/#43-37-3-2837-1710

Since the field is uncontrolled, how would you possibly safely fly into and out of the airport? Would Palm Beach approach be in charge of it? Who exactly do you contact before you takeoff, or as you approach, etc..?

Since the field is uncontrolled, how would you possibly safely fly into and out of the airport? Would Palm Beach approach be in charge of it? Who exactly do you contact before you takeoff, or as you approach, etc..?

Why do you need to talk to anyone? It is an uncontrolled airport, as you mentioned. As long as you stay below 1,200 feet and to the south, there is no need to talk to anyone. The cutout to the north allows for normal traffic patterns.

Not sure I understand what your issue is.

Unless you approach/depart from/to the north, and you stay under 1200 feet, you don't have to contact anyone. However, if you want to be safe you could contact Palm Beach Approach 127.35

Hi,

I'm a student pilot, and was just randomly looking through airnav and stumbled upon Palm Beach County Park Airport. I see it's proximity to KPBI and how it is under the low shelf of the Class C.

Don't be flying any wide, sloppy patterns there...

Hi,

Welcome aboard!