Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Stego_86
Hey All,

I want your stories.
-What did you do right/wrong?
-Did you by single or partnership?
-Any great advice on Pre-buys or Insurance agents?
-Broker or owner?
- How about financing (specifically looking for info regarding financing in partnerships)?
- Upgrading avionics/interior/paint? (Would you buy low and refurbish)?

*A few things I should note as I know pilots tend to be a bit snarky.

1) Let's assume that I'm financially stable enough to be considering a purchase. I understand the difference between fixed/variable costs and I'm quite savvy with numbers. (I'm a fin analyst)
2) I'm likely going to be doing this in a partnership, so the cost will not be my burden alone. (I also have a good understanding of LLCs/S Corps etc...)
3) I know my mission. I've narrowed my options down to a few single-engine piston aircraft.
4) I'm not purchasing anything in the short term. I'm getting information and doing my research now, and plan to possibly buy within 2 years.
5) I have over 300 hours / hold a PPL and I am working towards my instrument. Though I'm still green, I'm not fresh out of flight school.

Appreciate your suggestions.

My own stories are either tedious or reckless and not too useful for you.

Treat "plane ownership" as a separate skill, completely unrelated to the pilot license, and with similar learning curve and lesson expense. Actually higher lesson expense if you cut corners.

If you haven't done it before, don't go it alone. Find a type-specific broker, buyer agent, or friend 3 hangars over to help you out. Find the type-club forum, magazine, whatever, and start drinking knowledge. fast.

It's a sellers market. That means to get a quality plane, you need to start throwing karen-level elbows when a plane lists. Convince the seller you have the cash ready and can transact FAST because others can and will also.

"Don't forget to have fun!" :D

$0.02. Good luck.