How to assess need to upgrade avionics

jhoyt

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Jim
Many of the posts on avionic upgrades focus on glass panel stuff.

I'm a 70hr pilot in training about to schedule for check ride. Looking at 182s mainly for my own or w partner. Figure an initial budget around $50-60K. I am beginning to get a grip on good engine vs. bad engine, but not clear on avionics.

Here's an example:

http://www.controller.com/listingsd...-SKYLANE/1970-CESSNA-182N-SKYLANE/1320977.htm

Low time engine, interior/ex OK. Looking good. Then I look at the panel, and it looks like it needs work by the appearance, but maybe it would be fine for my goals.

How do you assess older avionics? I would like to be able to train for IFR but at most would use for getting out of 1000ft overcast. Not interested in G1000 linked to autopilot to shoot approaches to minimums. Would like a reasonable autopilot and radios/transponder that are reliable for VFR flying. Have iPad w FF now. There are an amazing variety of ways to go with this from what I see in the classifieds.

OR, if the old radios,transponders are fine to use, would put money into good engine monitor.

Everyone seems to say buy a plane with the avionics, etc… that you want. I guess my problem, is that I don't know EXACTLY what I need, and don't know how to assess older avionics,esp on the Cessnas. What would you all advise to put into a planes avionics for generic good quality avionics for functioning IFR potential?

What I think is needed is a Nav/Com with a glideslope and an IFR GPS/Com and an autopilot, then back it up with a (preferably mounted) VFR GPS. The autopilot doesn't need to have altitude hold, but that is nice. This gives you two radios, two units (in case one craps) a battery backup unit (the VFR GPS) and an IFR GPS.