How much renters insurance to carry?

hyphen81

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
hyphen81
I've searched the forums and found a few other topics related to this, but none specifically answered my question.

I know it varies greatly based upon several factors, but I'm trying to figure out how much insurance I need to carry. I'm covered by a policy from the flight school, but I know that's not really protecting me as much as they'd like me to think. I'm getting along in my training and probably should've picked up insurance sooner, but better late than never right? I'm a student with about 35 total hours, but only 10 hours in the past year.

I'm going to be renting for the foreseeable future and the most expensive rental I'll use will be a late 70's or early 80's 172 with the usual equipment, nothing too fancy. I may join a flying club later, but the aircraft would be roughly the same value.

I'm not wealthy by any stretch of the imagination, and I'd like to be able to fly as much as possible, and every penny I spend on insurance digs into that. At the same time, I realize the importance of being covered should something happen.

So what is a reasonable amount of coverage to get? I'm looking at the avemco site and seeing the attached options. I don't want to spend a fortune, but want a reasonable amount of coverage. Any guidance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• bodily injury.png
    bodily injury.png
    17 KB · Views: 29
  • damage liability.png
    damage liability.png
    35.2 KB · Views: 28
My initial thought is that I'd like to be somewhere in the $30 to $40 per month range as far as what I can reasonably afford, but I have no idea if that's enough coverage or not. And I'm guessing I should put more coverage under bodily injury than damage liability?