HIV & The FAA

• Thread starter BayAreaFlyerNewPilot
  • Start date
B

BayAreaFlyerNewPilot

Hi Everyone!

As a new student pilot, I'm going through the motions of obtaining 3rd Class Medical.

Must I report my HIV status? (Undetectable Viral Load).

If I do report my status and meds, what hoops/documentation will I have to jump through?

I'm not looking to be deceitful, but this is a very very personal subject with a lot stigmatism floating around it....

Thanks for your support,friends!

https://www.faa.gov/about/office_or...ices/aam/ame/guide/dec_cons/disease_prot/hiv/

Best bet, find a knowledgeable AME and consult - do not fill out MedXpress, do not go in for Class 3, only a consult. No need to mention why, just an appt for consult. If they refuse to do a consult, go to the next AME on the list.

Calling Dr Bruce or (my apologies) I don't remember name of the other AME hanging out here (west coast)

Doc Bruce will be able to give you good advice, i think he's still on this board. Best of luck to you!

Doc Bruce will be able to give you good advice, i think he's still on this board. Best of luck to you!
@bbchien

Dr. Bruce is still participating... but of late he's been a bit silent on this and a few other forums. My guess is either on vacation, overwhelmingly busy working with other airmen, or walking some hallways in DC on a mission to advocate for GA.

if the OP wants a more immediate answer, then visit the "How to Start" page on www.aeromedicaldoc.com

As far as the OP's original question....

Must I report my HIV status? (Undetectable Viral Load).
I am going to say yes to reporting HIV

I think this is going to fall under Question 18X on the 8500-8 form, Application for Airman Medical Certificate. My guess that being diagnosed as HIV positive definitely falls under the Medical History preamble of "HAVE YOU EVER IN YOUR LIFE BEN DIAGNOSED WITH, OR DO YOU PRESENTLY HAVE ANY OF THE FOLLOWING?"