High-risk activities -- What do YOU do?

Toby

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Toby Speed
How many and what kinds of higher-risk activities do you participate in? Do you find that you increase the amount of risk you are willing to take as time goes on? If you are involved in more than one higher-risk activity, do you deliberately choose some lower-risk activities to balance things out?

I've noticed among pilots a large number of motorcycle riders, go-kart riders, race car drivers, and skydivers. I'd say, for the purposes of discussion, that we include all risky activities, such as smoking, or walking through a high crime area.

I'm curious, probably because my background is one where I never took risks and was not expected to . I was brought up believing I should erect a protective shield between myself and all the dangers of the world. I was always told to be careful, stay home, drive in the right lane, and if it's dangerous don't do it. Now that I broke through that, I want to expand the list.

I hate to generalize, but as a group pilots seem to be more intelligent and more conservative than a lot of other people. That said, I've ridden motorcycles longer than I've flown. And I drive the Mass Pike every day. :)

Toby said:
How many and what kinds of higher-risk activities do you participate in?

I fly with Chip.

Toby said:
Do you find that you increase the amount of risk you are willing to take as time goes on?

I want to fly with Chip again.

Toby said:
If you are involved in more than one higher-risk activity, do you deliberately choose some lower-risk activities to balance things out?

Lunch in-between flights with Chip.

Toby said:
I want to expand the list.

Yea, the more aerobatics I do, the more I want to do, and the more I want to do on my own. But, I have to go at my own pace. One of these days, I hope to do one tandem jump.

Seems like anymore I need to keep going one step up for the excitement factor.