Hi, my name is Dale, and... I'm a pilot.

DaleB

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
DaleB
My check ride was scheduled for 0800 this morning. I was up at 6, ready to go at 7... and saw I had missed a call on my cell from the DPE. I called him back and he told me we'd have an extra passenger, an FAA guy would be doing his review of the DPE today. No problem, he says, don't worry, it won't make any difference in what we do (yeah, right) but I should plan for an additional 190 in the rear seats. AWOS said 67 degrees, winds calm, it was absolutely perfect weather for flying. I knew that would change by the time we flew, and I was right.

Ha. Not bloody likely. With Mr. DPE and I and 38 gallons of the finest blue Avgas available, we're not going to squeeze an FAA guy in the back seat unless everyone can shed about 25 pounds each. Now, I could stand to lose it all, but given the circumstances I told the DPE that the FAA guy was going to have to find another ride, we couldn't take him. No problem. But why does the FAA seem to have this irresistible attraction to me anyway? I bloody well got ramp checked a couple of weeks ago! Pretty soon I'm going to start taking this personally.

The oral went pretty well. Me, DPE and FAA Guy. Airspace, medicals, currency, electrical systems, fuel, preflight, radios, charts, nav, on and on. No big problems. I was shaky on spin recovery (having never done one) but muddled through. Eventually everyone was satisfied, so we went out to fly.