Here's an interesting situation (student pilot seeks co-pilot)

TMetzinger

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Tim
This message (redacted/altered slightly to protect the innocent and the stupid) came across from my flight club mail server today:

I plan to fly to YYY from our home base on 10/26 departing 10 AM using N123XY. The flight time is slightly over 2 hours. I need someone to accompany me to YYY and fly the plane back solo to home base. I am a student pilot who has passed the written test and all required flight times, waiting to schedule the check ride.

I also need someone to fly N23XY to YYY from our home base solo on 10/31 arriving at YYY around 1 PM so that we can fly back to JYO together.

[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Please let me know if any of you are interested and whether you are willing to share some of the cost.[/FONT]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif'][/FONT]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']I grok a lot of wrongness in this request, which makes me think that this student doesn't understand the FAR very well. [/FONT][FONT='Calibri','sans-serif'][/FONT]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']He's not inviting someone to share a flight he's going to make - he's not a rated pilot so can't carry passengers, and he's made it clear that he essentially want's drop off / pick up service. I think the motivator here is that he's not allowed to keep the airplane solo overnight until he's rated, and he probably also doesn't want to pay the minimums (which would be higher than the 8 hours for two there-and-backs).[/FONT]