Help with the right aircraft for my family (and dogs)

Srich1222

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Srich1222
Hey everybody,

I am approaching the time to begin to look at my first aircraft purchase. I even got the OK from the Wife! I'm in no rush so I'm definitely willing to wait for the best deal I can get. Here's my situation:

For now, it's just me, my wife, and our two dogs (70 lb German Shepherds). Planning on having a kid/s in the very near future though. We like to travel home quite a bit and bring our dogs but feel we are limited because it is a 12 hour drive each way. A plane would definitely allow us to visit home more frequently. Also, we live in western South Dakota and there are some awesome little airports around in the Black Hills area that we would love to fly into for those pancake breakfasts with friends.

Our budget is approximately $70k. Would also like something with low maintenance costs and insurance. I'm a pilot in the military with close to 1,000 hours and have my Instrument and Commercial SEL/MEL certificates if that matters any.

What would you guys recommend me to look for? I'd imagine we need something with 1,000lb useful load and about a 500nm range. Through some research I've been looking at Archers, Tigers, and even a Mooney M20 (earlier model). Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Some flavor of the Piper 180 may almost get you there, better yet would be a 235, Dakota or Cherokee 6.

We brought our German Shepherd after she was a year or so old, she didn't care for flying to much. We have now decided to leave her on the ground. That's an easy way to save you 140 lbs of weight.

With no kids(yet), and leaving the dogs on the ground, I wouldn't be turned off with the limitations of a 180 HP airplane.

People will tell you to buy your last airplane first, some will tell you not.