Help Diagnose Engine Issue - Mag Drop

Skid

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Skid
So I'll preface this with saying I'm not an engine expert by any means so hopefully I don't sound too stupid in my description of things or guess as to whats causing it. I'll try to keep this short:

There's nice 2008 Cessna 172SP at the place I rent, but seems to always be right on the limits when checking the mags (140-180rpm drop, limit is 150 max). The plane is in great shape inside and out so I really don't want to write it off if I can figure out a way to correct the problem I'm seeing. Here's some background:
  1. Density altitudes have been a consistent 1600-2100ft at the airport (sea level, but very hot and humid)
  2. I always try to aggressively lean after start (1200 rpm, lean until RPM drop, etc)
  3. On the first go at the mag check, I run it up to 1800 (mixture rich), and both mags seem to fall at the same rate down to around 150, sometimes greater, sometimes less. Never have I seen it less than 100.
  4. Since the plane is equipped with a G1000 I am able to see the EGT's for each cylinder, and they all seem to rise somewhat in unison for both the L & R mags. The #2 cylinder lags a little bit, but not by much. Makes me believe all the plugs are working ok.
  5. I try the clearing procedure of running it up to 2000, attempt to get on the lean side of peak and leave it there for 30 seconds. When re-checking there really is no difference, maybe 10 rpm less (ie 140), if that. At that point the CHT's are getting pretty high, so I never feel comfortable doing it more than once or twice, esp since I see no real improvement.
  6. During the times where the RPM drop was say 150-140 and barely within limits, the actual RPM on takeoff was a sluggish 2290-2310ish.