Hello!

Straxus

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Straxus
Or, as they say where I come from: Hey y'all! :)

I've known Greebo/Chuck for years now, via various internet contacts. I even had the pleasure of meeting him once, years ago. When I told him I was taking to the air, he pointed me this direction. So, here I am.

I've had an interest in flying for about as long as I was capable of speech and imagination. Circumstances nixed any initial aviation opportunities, and a long, misdirected stab at engineering failed to strike a chord with me. Years ago, I jumped into law enforcement with both feet, and I've never looked back. "Protect and Serve" aren't just words on the side of the car for someone like me; they mean something. Something important. In plain english, I'm a cop. That fact makes some people a little nervous, but I'm really a nice guy. Mostly. :rolleyes:

Recently, I was selected to join a unit dedicated to air support for regional law enforcement. This pretty much means I got thrown into the deep end of the pool as a flight observer, tasked with being the eyes/ears/voice for the guys on the ground, operating mapping systems and various camera/FLIR hardware. Along the way, I'm also learning to fly, and what little controls-time I've had so far has only left me hungry for more. All of my time has been spent in helos, but I'll be quite familiar with fixed-wing by the time I'm done.

I look forward to visiting here from time to time, to learn what I can. Maybe some day, I'll even be able to return the favor.

Straxus,
You will find an unlimited amount of knowledge here with pilots who will share that knowledge with you. As you go through your training you will have questions and this is the place to get answers.
Welcome and enjoy your flying.
Paul