Hello!

Dave Grundgeiger

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Dave
Hello, I just signed up and wanted to introduce myself.

I'm currently studying on Sporty's online ground school, and I'm practicing all maneuvers in X-Plane with a yoke, throttle, and rudder pedals. When I've passed the written test and feel confident in X-Plane, I'll switch over to training in an airplane. I've been wanting to do this for a long time. My daughter recently bought me an intro lesson, where I logged 0.6 hr in the plane. I was able to taxi, climb, turn, and descend pretty confidently. I've purchased a POH for the airplane I flew (1981 Piper Archer), and I'm flying the same model in X-Plane. I'm looking forward to flying more after my self-training.

I'm looking forward to meeting folks here, learning from you, and eventually paying it forward!

Dave

Just start flying! I just passed my written yesterday and will finish my formal training tomorrow (1.4 of simulated instrument). If you have the means and time to start actually flying, go for it. While I managed three months from start to 45 hours and a checkride endorsement, it was 8 months to find a plane, flying club, and instructor. It may take longer than you think so get started.

Just start flying! I just passed my written yesterday and will finish my formal training tomorrow (1.4 of simulated instrument).

Congratulations!

If you have the means and time to start actually flying, go for it. While I managed three months from start to 45 hours and a checkride endorsement, it was 8 months to find a plane, flying club, and instructor. It may take longer than you think so get started.