Headset idea

ettsn

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ettsn
So, let me start by saying I have a Bose A20 I quite like, and a few sets of DCs to boot. I say this to avoid the "just buy a real aviation headset" responses. ;)

Looking at the Clarity Aloft style headsets, I think I'd like to try them. But I think I can do better. I'm also a musician, so I have really good in-ear monitors and a boom mic, like these:
westoneac20_6578.jpg

Westone AC20 custom molded IEMs

Products31120-1200x1200-319133.jpg

Shure WH20XLR

Converting from XLR to a .206 plug is easy enough. Does anyone know what kind of impedance matching I need to do? Is it close enough, or will it be super hot (or nearly dead)?

Same for the IEM: 1/8" to 1/4" is easy peasy, but what about the load to the intercom/audio panel?

I'm thinking I could knock up an adapter box with GA plugs coming out of it, with 1/8" and XLR jacks on it, and I'd be money. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Last edited:
I built mine out of a Bose boom mike, set of Shure in ear monitors and a similar frame. For headset impedance matching I just used a mini off the shelf in-line thumb wheel volume control. A small radio shack project box worked great for the junctions and for the shielded mike/phone cord from the panel to the box, I bought a pre-made one off eBay with aviation jacks for very little money.

Works great, and I can wear any hat I want. Cost all in was prolly $75.

Only thing I'm thinking about your idea is I'm not sure how good a seal you'll get in your ear canal, but I'm not familiar with that design.

I might have posted pics when I did it. Search DIY headset. I used an aviation mike, so I can't help you with that, but I think theres' other posts here that do.

Last edited: