Have a collection of "can I afford this" threads handy?

OneSixDelta

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
OneSixDelta
Hello,

I'm in the early stages of figuring out whether I can (or should) purchase an aircraft. I'm a new pilot, just a dozen hours past my PPL certificate.

My area doesn't have any flying clubs within 1hr drive and the rentals basically aren't available except in summer. (Heavily booked flight school fleet) Basically I need to decide... purchase, move, drive hours or just go back into R/C planes and upgrade my flight simulator.

I know this question has probably been discussed to death, if you have any threads handy, I would appreciate some links, I'm having trouble finding with the search.

I'd probably fall into the older model C172/similar category and flying for personal/fun hopefully around 70-80 hours per year.

I've been doing my homework but still trying to find all the hidden costs, average costs, noobies like myself don't think about like taxes/registration that you wish you knew your first time.

Thanks for any links, tips, scares... :)

Stop the presses, a newly minted pilot wants a C172.

The airplanes condition, and where you bring it will largely decide the cost of the annual inspection. Also when looking for an older airplane you must take Total Time (TT) of airframe, and engine time SMOH (Since Major Overhaul) into consideration. I believe the TBO (Time Between Overhaul) for a 172 is about 1800 hours. You'll find that engine hours have a large part in deciding the value of an airplane, as once the engine is timed out, a rebuild is ridiculously expensive.

I should have added, just using some online calculators, it seems like I'd be in the 7-9000/yr range. The only costs I really know with some certainty would be fuel $5.75, hangar 1800, insurance 1100.