Handy tool fire wiring

Stewartb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
stewartb
Especially those little terminal blocks on Pmags! I’d never heard of these tools before last week. They’re inexpensive and available from lots of sources. I bought a similar kit on Prime for under $30. Cleaning up my Pmags will be worth that easily.

Fire wiring? Auto spell got me!

Cool. I would get one if I had to work with stranded wire more than about once a year. But I can see where they would be really handy.

Friends don't let friends use bare wires in terminal blocks. ;)

Nauga,
voluntarily terminated

Last edited:
Just finished rewiring my Pmags including putting the jumpers into the same connectors as the wires they jump. 1000% better than before.

Yes the ferrule connectors are great. I've been using them for at least 20 years on wiring in underground equipment.

51jbjs5Jc9L._AC_SY355_.jpg

You had me at Pmag. Ordered.

OBTW the PMAG ignition coil is from an old Ford Ranger 4 cylinder, should you need one fast.

Are the ferrules available with heat shrink tubing attached?
I have not seen them with heat shrink. In all the applications I'm evolved with they are used with DIN contacts. The contacts are inside a sealed box or cabinet.

I have a dimmer exactly like the one pictured above and I've had issues with it because of the stranded wire pulling out. Ordered.

I can’t find heat shrink terminals, either. Terminals with a heat shrink sleeve? Yes. One cool thing about these is that you can add a heat shrink boot after the crimp is made, so no prior planning is required.

Faster then tinning the wires too. TFS
Also, if a stranded wire is tinned properly, the solder wicks up the strands, making a stress concentration where the solder ends; this *may* lead to a fatigue failure under vibration, depending on cable 'dress'.