Ground school advice

CessnaN1315efw

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Anthony Saraceno
Hi everyone I'm new here. My friend Jason (HPNPilot1200) reffered me to this web board.

Im having a little problem. I turn 17 on April 4th and im gonna take my check ride. Ive completed all my flying stuff like the solo cross countries and have enough hours to qualify but i still have not taken my written test and i think i will fail it. I have never taken any formal ground school...my instructor has just explained how to do basic things like weight and balence, flight planning and basic aerodynamics ithat I have learned form a text book. My checkride is hopefully 2 months away and i will probably fail the oral if im having trouble on ground knowledge. Im studying from the Gliems test prep book but im having a lot of trouble...

....It seems like there is just to much information to self study and i keep getting lost on many topics... Can anyone recommend what i should do? Should i take some formal ground school? have private ground lessons with my CFI? any other suggestions? :redface: :dunno:

Anthony Saraceno
N14 - Flying W

Last edited:
Michael said:
i liked the kings dvd course.
http://www.kingschools.com

I used the cessna course which is done by King,either one will help,but i'll warn you now that some of the DVD lessons are boring but watch them anyway,and start at the beginning dont skip over stuff you think you know. And Good Luck on the Oral and Check ride
Dave G.

Usually some community colleges have a ground school, this can be a good way to get the job done. I went to a Part 141 school, so this is basically what I did.

On the other hand, the king tapes seem to be a good resource. I used the cd-rom version to get ready for the private pilot FAA test.

When I got my CFI, I used the red books (Gleim) to get ready for the written.