Grand Canyon Trip Help

VWGhiaBob

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
VWGhiaBob
Thinking of flying to Grand Canyon (KVNY, KHND overnight, KGCN) for a cross country tomorrow.

Can anyone point me to helpful links for using the special flight corridors and dealing with all the restrictions?

Thanks, Coma!

Any tips and tricks from folks who have "been there done that"? Flying a normally aspirated Saratoga (300hp) lightly loaded. Haven't flown at those high altitudes yet, though I did a mountain flying checkride landing and take off at Big Bear on a 7,000 pressure altitude day.

Thanks, all!

Those altitudes are FAR above terrain, but you can still get some "interesting" winds.

I've no experience in a Saratoga, but other Pipers really don't seem to like altitudes over 10,000, even light. If I were you, I'd take it over some place closer to home like Banning Pass up to 12,500 and see how it does (and how you do -- oxygen may be an issue even if it is not required by reg -- take a pulse ox). If it takes 30 or 40 minutes to climb up there from sea level, do a canyon crossing on a severe-calm morning, only.

7000 feet is nothing compared to 12,500 in a naturally aspirated small aircraft. Big Bear can get hairy in the wind, but it's really easy in calm winds. I took a Warrior there once, with the DA sign at the run-up area reading 8500.

Know your V-speeds at altitude. As you get close to your service limit, you'll need to fly closer to Vy to maintain altitude. And Vy will be lower at those high altitudes. It often appears in the POH at 10,000. You may have to extrapolate to the actual DA.

Last edited:
The corridors through the Grand Canyon SFRA require altitudes of 10,500 or 11,500 depending on direction. That should be no problem for a normally-aspirated Saratoga, even moderately loaded. They handle higher altitudes better than a Hershey-bar wing Cherokee Six or Lance.