GoProing tips (plexi and exterior)

James331

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
James331
Hey guys,

Thought I'd get the thoughts of the group, I'm new to gopros so I wanted to get y'alls 2 cents.

I recently got a GoPro off POA, it's got the filter, nflight audio cable and the suction cup, and just got a handle bar mount and a dive case too (like the original case but a little more beefed up), plane is a skywagon amphib.

My thoughts are

Interior:
Clean right side of windshield with pledge, chean suction cup, install on the rear middle upper edge of the windshield, use the Skelton case, filter and audio cable into the headset jack on the right side.

Exterior:

Go pro dive case, no filter.

Handlebar mount off the bottom of the tail stinger, activate via wifi.

Id be filming in 1080 narrow view, also just updated to firmware V3.0

Anything I'm missing, or anything seem like it's a bad idea here?
Guessing the suction cup won't hurt my windshield right?

Thanks!

Guessing the suction cup won't hurt my windshield right?

No problomes on this one. I have three Ram suction cup mounts...iPhone, water bottle holder and timer...zero issues so far with the windshield after three years.

On the tail, you may get crap (bugs dirt, etc) kicked up by the prop and onto the lens. Been there, done that.

On a low-wing, I've had the best luck with mounting to the tie down rings under the wings.

I mount to the left seat windscreen. It tucks close enough that it does not get in the way of my head or looking out that side (PA28). It also captures out the front, left side, all the panel, and most of what I am doing with the controls.

Using the audio cable is great because it captures all the radio stuff for when I am looking back on the vids for my own training.

Either get a larger external battery or a charger that works with the planes systems so that you can do even CC flights with recording from start to finish; not sure a good tip if you are mounting external.