Good thing I don’t fly for a living

evapilotaz

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Drone airspace abuser
Having some eye problems getting addressed so I cannot fly for a while. What do you all do that fly for a living and cannot fly for health issues?
Do you have a backup plan for another career if you cannot ever fly again. If I flew for a living I would be concerned losing my Medical would put me in bankruptcy.

Just wondering What you all have for a backup plan.

This is true for tons of jobs, it's a risk like anything.

Also being multi facieted is always a good idea, pilot or not.

For pilot who loose their medical, if they have some experience they can always be a sim Instructor at FSI or something.

What do you all do that fly for a living and cannot fly for health issues?

Go bonkers, I tell ya what........

I have been busy, too busy on a start up business. I need to get some time to get my medical again. I feel the call of Alaska.....again.

You have two doctors. One keeps you healthy. One keeps you employed. Neither one knows about the other one.
People have no idea how profoundly not facetious that trope is when it comes to our demographic. I'd expand more but I like my fifth amendment so I digress.

Well we have a doc on the books to streamline the SI process so I’d probably roll the dice with that and try and stick it out. If it becomes something that I believe would be hazard to my crew / pax, I don’t think I’ll have any problems letting go of aviation. We’ve got non flying positions in the company for people who can’t maintain a medical as well.

To be honest, losing my medical isn’t something that I worry about each year. 20 years of military flight physicals (long form) that far exceed the depth of an FAA class 2 / 3 and I didn’t worry about those either...well maybe the first one. 25 years of maintaining an FAA medical, it’s more of a paperwork formality than anything . I still have 20/20 (barely), normal BP, hearing, weight, etc.

Last edited: