Going Stratus ESG/Stratus 3i

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Huckster79, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    5963CCB1-1744-4FCB-9A67-BA201D9011A5.jpeg

    I almost pulled the trigger on a tailbeacon for my old king76a, but have had a change of mind.

    I’ve decided to go Appereo Strates ESG and Stratis 3i combo.

    The unit has gps internally, The a&p package includes the gps antenna, mounting supplies, and the stratus 3i for $3250 before a $200 rebate for any old mode c unit...

    The kicker for me was the Stratus 3i... just like our dashboard units but it uses the transponders antenna and a charger that goes to the transponder so it can all go behind panel..

    That’s a heck of a value to be updating to a new 5yr warranty unit with IN and OUT... I’ll use IN more when it’s already on board, I don’t have to bring it, charge it or have a chord to the cig lighter...

    I just think for a basic airplane this is a lot of bang for about 4.5 AMUs...
     
    GeorgeC likes this.
  2. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,285
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    I agree! You’re gonna love it!

    Make sure you report back after you’ve flown with it.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  3. aftCG

    aftCG Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    aftCG
    I've installed two of them so far and they work great. Toughest part to get used to is not switching from stdby to alt and back.
    Easily the biggest bang for the buck in ads-b in/out transponder. You'll probably want to update your mode C encoder to an RS-232 type but that's cheap
     
  4. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    That was already figured in as my old one is shot anyway... and why go that far and leave a pretty inexpensive part as antique I figure.
     
  5. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    thanks, thanks for chiming in on that other thread too originally. Your post and one other friend doubting the wisdom of going tailbeacon got me reconsidering. I had looked before at these but then got in the mode “I’d I’m Gunna do it- I’ll do it barebones to be compliant”

    then seeing last week in my club plane an airplane on my iPad from my stratus that was same alt 90 degrees different travel than me and converging. At two miles apart I turned 90 then spotted him at my 9 o’clock heading the opposite way of me... all was good. But it was marginal vfr and snow showers- without those extra “eyes” it potentially was too close for comfort. It was near the neighboring airport as we got home from a few hours up north... it hit me I only take the stratus with me on long flights but this happened next door to home... with that onboard it’ll be there for every last minute “for the heck of it” flight... and I do a lot of those... 170 the last 12 months :)
     
  6. CRQFlier

    CRQFlier Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CRQFlier
    Great unit. Works really well. The big downside is no adsb-in traffic shared to panel units - only portables.

    Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    i think the in panel issue wont be for me :)
    7619C79E-8293-4577-8DD3-DEE82430D2FF.jpeg
     
    CRQFlier and KaiGywer like this.
  8. Lndwarrior

    Lndwarrior Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gary
    Just installed the same system in my homebuilt. Really easy install once I figured out I was given the wrong wiring harness. Figuring out I had the wrong wiring harness was not so easy... Seems to work great so far.

    I was getting sick of dealing with an adsb-in box stuck on the canopy.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  9. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,285
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Yes, it wouldn’t be a good choice for a plane that has plans of putting in glass in the near future. That’s how I came by mine. A friend who I was doing a favor sharing a hangar with, put a lot more glass in his Mooney cockpit and the Appareo wouldn’t feed it. He sold it to me for $2300. It was the perfect solution for my 140 although I am now putting a 420 non WAAS in it and would like a 345, I just can’t justify such an extra expense. The 420 is for non precision GPS approaches to get in my home airport and to shoot practice approaches. The Appareo is still fine for this mission.

    I fly the little Cessna with Pad IN in my lap. It still probably has more panel than you would ever need in a 140.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  10. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    yea I’m solid vfr guy... I commented on a post in the 140 FB group on a guy getting an AV30 and teased him that ya know ya really only need the oil temp n pressure guages on these old gals the rest of them intrumebts just fluff :)
     
  11. a572mike

    a572mike Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mike
    I've had a Stratus ESG in my '58 182 for the last year and a half. Instead of the 3i I've got a regular Stratus 3 mounted in a cradle under the glove box and connected to the ESG. It's so nice to have a modern piece of tech that works well.
     
    Huckster79 and MBDiagMan like this.
  12. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I have the Stratus 3i, no problems.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  13. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    great to hear! I’m geeked... it will be nice to have stuff that just works right... my transponder been janky for a bit so I’ve just avoided spots it’s required it’ll be nice to not have that hinders me.

    got a case of “while we’re at it’s” and going to move the headset jacks to behind me instead of on the panel and a usb charger as well...

    may that point she’ll be as decked out as i can ever imagine wanting in a Cessna 140... if I need fancier than this stuff I need a fancier plane
     
  14. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    min going 3i as it’s quite a buy right now in an a and p kit they have... and figure I’ll sell my stratus 2 and be about even up on that part and have 3i. I see you can get the other models to work but for the price of the bundle right now it just made sense.
     
  15. a572mike

    a572mike Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mike
    I already had the 3, and it's performance sold me on going with the ESG. I had been thinking of going with uAvionix, but I knew that every time I looked at my 182 with nice original paint and an out of place thing on the wing or the tail cone it would have bothered me. The bundle pricing I've seen lately looks like some good deals.
     
  16. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,611
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    I hear ya, ya I thought the tail beacon was more inconspicous that the wing one but yea I like our classic birds for being classic birds... I like my simple striping and not some spash theme like newer planes, etc... Now the splash look looks awesome on newer fancy birds, but for an old classic ya can't beat the old classic look. In all honesty that was part of my hesitancy of a new transponder is the old king 76a looks more at home in the cockpit than a new unit.. But something had to give... And I can tolerate that modern look inside better than out...
     
    a572mike likes this.
  17. Aviator305

    Aviator305 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juan
    @Huckster79

    I would recommend considering going a slightly different route. Instead of getting the 3i installed in the back of the panel, just get the Stratus connection kit. You can plug in a regular Stratus to the two ports, and your ADSB-in will come from the ship antenna. The advantage of this is that you will always be able to use the latest portable Stratus.

    In my case, the Stratus 2 was the latest and greatest when my ESG was installed (by previous owner). When I bought the plane, I started out by using the Stratux (home-made) which was able to connect to the ship antenna. When they released the Stratus 3, I upgraded to that to enjoy the ability to use my non-Foreflight app as well as superior AHRS performance.

    The point is that you never know what they will come up with next, and I think that having the 3i behind the panel might make it a bit of a bigger pain to upgrade.

    On my Cherokee, actually have my Stratus 3 attached to the ceiling plastic with the cables running underneath the plastic before they emerge to connect to the connection kit by the co-pilot’s knee in front of the door. So, it’s clean and looks sharp.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  18. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,285
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    The one used with the Appareo is simply mounted in place with a few plug in connections. I could probably have it out in five minutes. Besides Huckster said that he was looking forward to not having to remember to set it up and hook it up. I understand that perfectly because I was using a Stratux in the 140 before and the new arrangement is tidy and always there. A few seconds after startup it connects on its own with no wires strewn around to snag something on. It’s wonderful!

    Huckster, maybe the rear headphone connections will be right for you, but I just want to give you my experience. My 140 has connections at the lower corners of the panel and also behind the outer shoulder of the occupant. I used the rear ones a few times but would lean back on the cable and then turn my head and they would be caught behind me. Was quite a distraction. Just thought I would share my experience with that.
     
    Huckster79 likes this.
  19. Aviator305

    Aviator305 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juan
    Well, this is exactly a benefit of what I am suggesting. He would not have to remember to set anything up. The portable Stratus can be “permanently” mounted by applying screws through the plastic cradle, in my case through the plastic overhead. The Stratus would get information from the ship antenna as well as power. In fact, it would turn on automatically as soon as the master switch is on. There is a setting that facilitates that, I think on the ESG.

    PS Here is a link to a Stratus Interface Kit https://www.chiefaircraft.com/app-1...MIvMDG2_WP7wIVx7KGCh1Legu9EAQYAiABEgJMH_D_BwE
     
  20. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,285
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Sounds like the one under the right side of my panel. It is simply screwed in place with plug in connections. That’s what comes with the transmitter. How is it different from what you are proposing?
     
  21. Aviator305

    Aviator305 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juan
    I wonder if one of us misunderstood the other or both. If what you have is what I posted on the link above, then we are talking about the same thing.

    If you leave your Stratus in the plane all the time, power it through the interface kit, and send ABSB through said kit, then we are using it the same way.

    If the OP is ever interested in Stratus 4, 5, or 6, all that has to be done is snap the old Stratus out from the cradle, put the new one in, and reconnect the two cables (serial and antenna).
     
    a572mike likes this.