Going from Sport Pilot to Private Pilot? Costs?

dosstx

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
doss
Hi all,
I'm a Sport Pilot (got my ticket last year). I got about 50hrs total with about 97% of that time in a J3 Cub.

I'm 30 years old and own a Cub, but I know I can't use it for the private pilot ticket. I am interested in possibly pursuing a full private pilot ticket and was wondering if anyone could help me figure out the costs involved taking into consideration that I can use my sport pilot time towards the PPL?

Have you flown anything else other than the cub? Like a 172 or PA28?

As far as I know, you can still train for all of the private stuff in a cub, but will still need a plane with appropriate navigation system to demonstrate those PTS tasks.

Can't, because?

A J-3 is not going to be able to demonstrate all of the required tasks under 'Navigations Systems' or the Instrument flight tasks required for the PPL. Also, depending on the aircraft, it may not be able to demonstrate all of the Radio Comms tasks.

If you find a DPE who is willing, you could theoretically use two airplanes for the checkride - the cub for 95% of the tasks and then go up in a rented 172 for the ones listed above.

If the DPE was willing to do that, it might be the cheapest/easiest for you - you could still do almost all of the required PPL x-country training with your instructor and then just spend a couple hours on the Navigation and Instrument flight tasks in a 172.

Last edited:
Lack of gyro instruments/glass equivalent (for simulated IFR) ... didn't think of that but yeah, not many cubs with a 6-pack.

As for Nav, the PTS as I read it says:

1. Exhibits knowledge of the elements related to navigation systems
and radar services.
2. Demonstrates the ability to use an airborne electronic navigation
system.
3. Locates the airplane's position using the navigation system.
4. Intercepts and tracks a given course, radial or bearing, as
appropriate.