Glider crash - Winter Haven, FL

That does appear to have an engine that pops up from the middle of the fuselage. From what I read, once those are raised, they create a large amount of drag, basically you are taking your 30-40:1 glide ratio and turning it into a Piper Arrow rock, then there is a checklist to get that propeller started which I heard takes at least 15 seconds. Likely it uses fuel, some are electric.

Maybe not an engine failure but rather an inability to get the engine started.

Earlier gliders with aux engines used Solo and Hirth 2-stroke engines which at times didn't want to start. This type uses a small Wankel engine and I have no knowledge on how reliably they fire up.

Unless it popped out during the crash , it appears that the bay doors were open and the engine unstowed.

My glider has no engine, but in training I was warned that motor-gliders should not rely on an engine starting-up to “save” a low flight. As others already mentioned, it’s a big gamble to deploy the engine-pod if it doesn’t start you’ve made your situation a lot worse.

I’ll add context that when gliding at-altitude, everything gets cold-soaked. The sun from the canopy warms your upper body, but your feet can be freezing.

The best configurations are those “Folding electric sustainers” where the folding prop is already at the nose, and electric motors are much more reliable to restart from cold.

I’ll add context that when gliding at-altitude, everything gets cold-soaked. The sun from the canopy warms your upper body, but your feet can be freezing.

Temps here have been in the mid-90s all week. He would have needed to be in the flight levels to get any meaningful cold soak.

From what I can tell it is an electric Sustainer or Self launch (I don’t know if it supports self launch). So power failure or fuel exhaustion potentially might have been a factor.

Brian