Glider Add-on

GCA319

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
GCA319
Any glider pilots on here? I may be interested in doing an add-on and I'm looking for what to expect and any tips anyone may have for me (reccomended reading etc). I'm a Commercial pilot/CFI in airplanes, but I'll probably only want Private privileges in gliders for the time being (less solo flights required and less money than doing the Commercial add-on).

I always say go straight for the commercial. The ten extra solo flights is cheaper then prepping and paying for another checkride. Pretty easy, if you are at a club it can take awhile. Quickies at commercial operations can be rushed and a bit light on the soaring, no worries it is a glider license you can spend decades getting better at soaring. Where you going?

> The ten extra solo flights is cheaper then prepping and paying for another checkride.

+1

I always say go straight for the commercial. The ten extra solo flights is cheaper then prepping and paying for another checkride. Pretty easy, if you are at a club it can take awhile. Quickies at commercial operations can be rushed and a bit light on the soaring, no worries it is a glider license you can spend decades getting better at soaring. Where you going?
I'll be going to a Commercial operation at 0E0 (Moriarty, NM). My main concern is keeping the cost down , so I feel like doing the Private is probably the smartest option at this point in time.

Last edited:
From what I understand about Gliders...be prepared to sit around and wait alot for the glider. When you finally get in it...you do the one landing and keep practicing those which evidentally takes a bit to learn. I waited 8 hours to get two flights in.

You can download the FAA glider pilots handbook fro free here:
http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/aircraft/glider_handbook/media/faa-h-8083-13.pdf