Genetic screening and Aeromedical issues

astanley

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew Stanley
I'm in a discussion around the ethics of genetics and aeromedical issues.

Currently, under FAA standards, does the holder of a Class I medical have to self-ground (or be grounded) upon the discovery of a genetic marker that indicates a 100% likelihood of adult onset of a debilitating disease? By debilitating, I mean ALS or Huntington's.

My guess is that yes, a pilot has to self-ground, and the pilot would be subject to a OKC SI of shortened duration requiring some sort of motor-skill assessment and letter from the neurologist establishing that he was clear to fly. But, I'm not a doctor...

Cheers,

-Andrew

You know of anything in Part 67 making "a genetic marker that indicates a 100% likelihood of adult onset of a debilitating disease" in and of itself disqualifying? If not, I think your question is answered.

There is no need to self ground until symptoms begin. The only debilitating genetic illness that will remain secret until symptomology is Huntingtons, and the Huntingtons Society suggests not geneotying to see if you have the allele. No need to see your future, it will show up in its good time. Seeing it won't help, as there is no treatment.

The only other completely penetrant debilitating genetic illnesses will show them selves quite early, and the symptoms are either disqualifying or they aren't. Thus the answer is no. You self ground for the presence of a symptom, not the possibility of one.

I'm in a discussion around the ethics of genetics and aeromedical issues.

Currently, under FAA standards, does the holder of a Class I medical have to self-ground (or be grounded) upon the discovery of a genetic marker that indicates a 100% likelihood of adult onset of a debilitating disease? By debilitating, I mean ALS or Huntington's.