Gauges VS Glass

Terry

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Terry
Hi everyone,

I am an IR pilot with just a little over 300 total hours. I am 65 years old. I consider myself a safe pilot.

My dilemma? I have yet to fly anything close to a glass cockpit. Am I going to be obsolete in another year or two?

I have seen the glass cockpits and frankly am very nervous about flying an airplane that would be all glass. One of my biggest hurdles was using the Bendix/King GPS in my IR training. I didn't understand it and because of that my IR training was delayed. One of the problems was several CFI's were not proficient with the GPS either. I finally went out and flew the airplane without the hood until I got confident with the GPS.

Currently there are no rental planes with a glass cockpit. (I am glad)

Another item is the joy stick on the side of the airplane. I have always flown with a yoke and feel nervous about switching over to a joystick.

Maybe I am getting too old to fly modern aircraft.

Your opinions and thoughts are appreciated.

I am flying Sunday for my IR proficiency. I will be in the 172 that I earned my instrument rating in. Thanks Goodness. :wink2:

Am I the only senior aged pilot that feels this way?

Terry :hairraise:

Hi everyone,

A little more info. I have around 100 hours of IR. I am comfortable with flying in IMC but keep my ceilings to over 800'.

I would have no problem flying a glass cockpit in VFR conditions. (After being checked out in the plane) I am just not comfortable in doing ANYTHING in IMC in a glass cockpit.

Surely, their are restrictions to letting an old IR pilot in a modern glass cockpit in IMC?

Terry :confused: