Garmin pricing confusion

thito01

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Tony T
Just getting back into flying after about 5 years and the databases and software pricing from Garmin has my head spinning. I have never used an EFB before. I am IFR and plan on flying IFR. My aircraft does have a GTX330ES and one GNS430W.

I am an android user and I like the looks for Garmin Pilot for my EFB (but open to discussing changing that choice, but I am not open to moving from an android to an iPad.)
For Garmin Pilot, it looks like I need both Garmin Pilot Standard and Garmin Pilot Upgrade. (Am I reading the description's right?)
It also looks like I really should add a Flight Stream 210 to the aircraft.

As to the GNS430W, it looks like I don't need the OnePaks or PilotPaks as they are geared toward aircraft with multiple Garmin devices and I only have one GNS430W. So, my best option is the US Database Bundle for the first year followed by considering just the nav updates in later years.

So, I need three subscriptions:
Garmin Pilot Standard $79.99
Garmin Pilot Upgrade $79.99
US Database Bundle $449.00 (with maybe converting to nav-only next year)
Plus, I need the Garmin chip programmer to replace my 10+ year old skybound.

Am I understanding everything correctly?

Thanks,
Tony T.

You are in an EFB world with 90% of pilots using a IPAD. The last I heard from people trying Pilot with Droid they weren’t very happy and Garmin was not much help.

Standard and Premium Upgrade subscriptions for full function Garmin Pilot, yes. A separate FlyGarmin data account to update avionics, yes.

I get just the navdata for $300. Terrain, safetaxi, and obstacles are included with pilot on your tablet.