Garmin Pilot IFR Flight Plan Update Notifications

Mahneuvers

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Mahneuvers
I'm a relatively new IFR pilot so sorry if this is a basic question. I filed an IFR flight plan this week with a direct route. My clearance had me fly a departure procedure. I used Garmin Pilot/Leidos. I received an "your flight plan has been updated" e-mail but nothing was changed and no mention of the DP...it appears that e-mail was just telling me my "flight plan has been rogered by ARTCC". This DP was relatively easy so it wasn't a problem. If it were a complex DP, it would have been nice to have advance notice so I could review the charts etc. rather than figuring it all out prior to taxi. Should I have received an alert regarding the addition of the DP to my flight plan? I've read POA posts talking about ATC notifying them of route changes so apparently it happens....maybe DPs aren't alerted???

I always get that notification when it gets activated. I don't think a DP assigned by the local tower gets updated in your filed plan.

Check this out. You can see how my flight plan routed me to the Liberty VOR (Raleigh One DP transition). So, it would appear my flight plan, at least at some point, was updated.

someone smarter than me shall be along shortly to explain better than I can.

what happened to me recently is I was en route and GP will say 'your flight plan has been updated'. ATC will either issue that or not. coming back from rough river I got a GP notification of a reroute. about 30 minutes later ATC asked if I was given a re-route and I said no, I was assigned direct, which in fact I was (what if GP couldn't get connected to give me the reroute?). I can't imagine I'd fly a reroute received thru GP without hearing it from ATC. also coming back from VA, same thing, notification thru GP, nothing from ATC. kinda weird.

...what if GP couldn't get connected to give me the reroute...