Garmin Pilot for Android Users - Want to Share Your Experiences?

flightwriter

Line Up and Wait
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Rob Finfrock
Hello all - I'm working on an article for Aviation International News regarding Android aviation apps. I'm very interested in speaking with users of the Garmin Pilot app on their Android tablets.

If you're interested in being interviewed for my story, please drop me a line at rob@robfinfrock.com no later than October 8. Thanks!

I just purchased a Nexus7 and installed Garmin Pilot. I plan to take it on a trip next week. I'll contact you after I have a valid flight test experience.

I have a subscription to both the Garmin Pilot and Naviator Android apps. and currently use both in the cockpit. I have both apps on my Motorola xybord 10.1 tablet and my droid bionic phone. I do not have an ADS-B receiver so cannot comment on inflight weather from either app I do plan on buying one. But I play with the weather on both on the ground.
Here's my brief take on both.
*Spit and polish: Garmin Pilot is a very pretty app. Naviator is simpler in appearance.
*Prefilght capabilities: Naviator has the edge because it provides a DUATS weather briefing. The Android version of Pilot does not offer a weather briefing. Both file flight plans via DUATS with Pilot sending a confirmation email to Gmail, Naviator sending confirmation to my Yahoo email.
*Preflight planning: Both get the job done very effectively just slightly different paths No winner in my opinion.
* Inflight use: Naviator is the app I keep migrating to while in the air because of shear simplicity of operation. The tap and go and rubber banding a route works real fast on Naviator. Last weekend I had both running and by the end of my flight I was useing Naviator only.