Garmin Avionics Shop

Jack Presley

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Elvis
I'm new to getting any avionics upgraded. I'm curious about big shop, small shop, pricing, etc. The obvious answer, I guess is to get quotes and go from there. But, still, I have questions.

Here is my current setup:
GMA-350 Audio Panel
430W Navigator
Narco Com/Nav
GTX-335 Txpdr
Old EI engine monitor
400b Autopilot

G5 installed where the turn-coordinator was, flush mounted. (Frustrating, why I dunno).

End game, I'd like to have:
G5 stack
750xi navigator
430w as backup com/nav/gps
345 for ADS-B In/traffic
500 a/p
A full up engine monitor with FF, MP, Tach, etc.

Remove vacuum system, Narco, ADF, 400 DME, 400b, AH, DG.

Since I'm adding a G5 HSI, I'd use the existing CDI with the 430w as a backup, and remove the second CDI tied to the Narco.

First, is this a legit plan?
Second, is a pipe dream to do this incrementally to avoid more $$ shock?
Third, big shops vs. small shop

Recommendations appreciated.

What model and year plane?

Generally, if things aren't too unreasonable, you can get the install work done for the price differential between the list price for most of those units and the normal discount.

Left Panel.jpeg Center Stack.jpeg

I'm thinking I want to relocate the ELT. Remove the 400b and Narco. So center stack would be 750xi, 430w, 500 A/P, Transponder.

Then put in the G5 stack above the yoke. Engine monitor in the G5 hole?? Or where the DME is? Leave the analog gauges on the right panel?

Thanks for the inputs. (Sorry if I screwed up the post. Still getting the hang of the forum.)

I'd ditch the DME and move the engine analyzer of your choice over there. That's where one of mine is (I have the #1 NAV on the HSI, and the #2 where your CDI is).

I'm new to getting any avionics upgraded. I'm curious about big shop, small shop, pricing, etc. The obvious answer, I guess is to get quotes and go from there. But, still, I have questions.