Garmin 480 Questions

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
A flying club I am joining has a 1975 C182P with a Garmin 480 in the panel.

I have some experience with the GNS430 so many of the concepts will transfer, but this will be the first time operating the 480. So some questions:

Database update:
A recent flight with a buddy who is in the club showed me that the database is not up to date. Since most members fly the 182 VFR, keeping that DB current hasn't been that much of a concern.

I know someone in the club likely has the computer attchment and software to download updates. But for my own education, what is needed and from whom do I purchase it? Who sells the data cards?

Where do I go to get the database updates?

I will likely use the club's resources to do this updating. But I wanted to know the answers myself.

Training Resources:
I did download the manual from garmin.com and am reading through it. Likley need to be spending some time just sitting in the aircraft reading the book and pushing buttons while on ground power.

But does anyone have any recommendations for other products that would help me get the most out of this system? The manual shows it to be an extremely capable system. But it's complicated enough that I want something a bit easier to digest and a bit deeper than the Garmin manual.

I haven't searched Kings or Sporty's yet, but they are on my list to investigate.

Last edited:

I have some experience with the GNS430 so many of the concepts will transfer, but this will be the first time operating the 480. So some questions:

Database update:

I know someone in the club likely has the computer attchment and software to download updates. But for my own education, what is needed and from whom do I purchase it? Who sells the data cards?

Jeppesen, and Jeppesen. They have the monopoly on it and charge as if they do.

On here, Lance Fisher has a 480 I believe.