Garmin 430 question (X-posted on red board)

grattonja

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
saratoga driver
I am just starting to learn to use the Garmin 430 in our fleet's rental Cutlass. I've got what is probably a stupid question, but haven't been able to figure out the answer by reading, and wasn't able to find the solution in my most recent trip up behind the unit. So here goes.

I'm on a flight plan, very simple. LNS direct THV direct LNS. Practice approaches at both airports. I put the above in my active flight plan. I'm taking off LNS and it won't take long to get to THV and I want to load the GPS17 approach (at THV) into the flight plan. I hit "proc" but only get the option of approaches at my final destination, LNS. I try going into flight plan and highlighting THV and hit "proc". Same options.

How do I get the option to load an approach for an airport in my flight plan that isn't my final destination? We did it by simply going direct to THV and then loading the procedure for same. But that seems to me to defeat the purpose of loading the FP into the database to begin with.

Is this something that I can do by going into menus? Help!

Jim G

grattonja said:
I am just starting to learn to use the Garmin 430 in our fleet's rental Cutlass. I've got what is probably a stupid question, but haven't been able to figure out the answer by reading, and wasn't able to find the solution in my most recent trip up behind the unit. So here goes.

I'm on a flight plan, very simple. LNS direct THV direct LNS. Practice approaches at both airports. I put the above in my active flight plan. I'm taking off LNS and it won't take long to get to THV and I want to load the GPS17 approach (at THV) into the flight plan. I hit "proc" but only get the option of approaches at my final destination, LNS. I try going into flight plan and highlighting THV and hit "proc". Same options.